Movie Review: The Losers

The Losers

Rating: Pretty Damn Good

I have to say I was pleasantly surprised by this flick. Honestly I think most people expected this movie to suck, and I think the commercials confirmed that theory, but after giving the movie a chance I have to say I’m glad I did. Is it because I had low expectations? Perhaps, but in the end I think the movie was exactly what it planned to be, unfortunately it didn’t know how to advertise itself. It’s a slick action comedy and doesn’t try to be any more than that. It’s not as goofy as Charlie’s Angels, not as gory as Pineapple Express or Kick Ass; but I’d say it fits somewhere in between those and well into the Action Comedy genre. I laughed a lot in the movie, and I heard a lot of people in the audience do so as well. It has some feel good points, some mild tear jerkers, a lot of hilarious moments, lots of action, all in all a pretty good balance.

What you’ll love:

-Great directing, with lots of interesting and cool angles not currently overdone in movies recently released
-Intricate details, in one scene they hijack a helicopter and briefly as the camera pulls out, you see the crew unconscious on the side of the road-missing their boots; that way they can’t go far to alert anyone what happened. A very small detail that isn’t focused on and barely gets any screen time, but someone on set felt that it was important to pay attention to every minor detail and it shows pretty well throughout.
-Cool soundtrack, lots of different stuff you don’t hear every day. It amazes me that movies don’t use indie music more regularly, it’s cheap, usually ten times better and adds a unique feel to a film
-Fast pace with no drag
-Very funny, not stupid-funny either, actual comedy
-Interesting scientific stuff based in reality
-An okay twist in the plot at one point

What you may not like:

-To a point the very genre of quirky action comedy doesn’t appeal to everyone, but I do think for being a movie that isn’t meant to be taken too seriously they did an excellent job at being detail oriented and articulate without being overly dramatic or corny. So even though you may not like this type of film, I think you’d get your money’s worth on a day when you’re bored and just want to veg-out in some free air conditioning and not have to think too much while still being entertained and getting a good laugh.
-The story bounces around a bit, it’s not confusing at all, but to a point I think some of the bouncing didn’t help the story in any way and could have been left out to make the film a bit more slick
-Not completely character driven, while the individual characters are well thought out, and there are key instances that show great character interaction, the film doesn’t do much to get you to “feel” what they were feeling and so when it’s time for them to do stuff, you’re not really cheering them on, you’re just sort of watching and waiting for another funny moment, explosion etc.
-A bit cheesy in some parts, but those are few and far between

Overall, in spite of the negatives, I think the movie is worth more than the average person would think by judging the movie from its trailer. I’m okay with paying 8 bucks to see it in the theater, the action is cool enough and the music good enough that’s it’s worth the big screen-big speakers-big experience instead of just waiting for the rental. At the same time, I think that if action comedy isn’t something you go out of your way to see, you’d probably feel more satisfied paying for a 6 buck matinee. Definitely worth more than the dirt mall discount theater, I think it serves its purpose quite well while still retaining a bit of intelligence and unique flare, worth the time and money. Everyone in the theater laughed a lot and had a good time with it. I’ll probably get the DVD. I’d say 14.99 is a good price. I don’t really see a point in spending 20.

Let me know what you think,
Kephra

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Movie Review: The Losers

  1. CMrok93 says:

    What makes The Losers such winning entertainment is its refusal to take the story or the characters too seriously, alongside a uniformly excellent cast who all step into the shallow boots of their characters with so much fun. God review, check out mine when you can!

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Agreed, ya know not everything needs to be a masterpiece, it just needs to be entertaining and it’s a lot of action and a lot of laughs, and there’s at least some kind of story thrown in there. It’s definitely a good watch on a “veg out and do nothing” sort of day when you want to be entertained, but your brain is tired.

Leave a Reply

