Poetry: Slowly It Degrades

Slowly It degrades

Somebody please help me
To understand why
Slowly it degrades

Such a great mind
Such a great sight
A magnificent image
A picture perfect heart

But slowly the film fades
The image degrades
The thoughts wash out
Only rough outlines remain
Memories that feel like broken pieces
Can’t find the shards we need to mend
So many fragments lost
Yet we hold on to what we can

We can only grasp so much in one life
And the sands of time are just too fine
Try so hard but the shards are gone
The cracks let slip, but we try to hold on

So many beautiful things
So many memories fade
It feels like so many things
Get taken away

Trying to look back,
Memories pay honor to what we’ve lost
But the images fade,
Somebody please help me
To understand why
Slowly it degrades

It’s like the harder we fight to keep
The faster it slips away
The more I grasp at reality
The more dreamlike it seems to me

Slowly it degrades
So many things left behind
So many times we walked away
Grudges over nothing,
Simply playing games
All the time in the world

Slowly it degrades

Sweat, blood, tears, loss, pain
All grains, scratches, cracks and hairs
On the image that remains

In futility we fight with all of our might to hang on
Because to let go, would leave us all alone
With no faded outlines left for us to hold
Staring at the photos, touching the paper face

Perhaps it is pitiful
Perhaps it is beautiful; the willingness to fight
Even if in the end, we all must go
And though our images will soon fade
We are honored by those who try not to let it slip away

That we are not forgotten out of spite, nor greed or hate
We are not forgotten out of shame, or disgust, or pain
We are not forgotten to rectify jealousy or distrust
We can’t forget each other on purpose

We are forgotten with a fight, resistance, defiance,
We are forgotten with virtue, strength, honor, loyalty,
We are forgotten with respect.
And to be forgotten slowly, grain by grain,
In spite of the finest aspects of humanity,
As lonely and cold as being forgotten is,
There is a certain beauty in a life where in the face of futility…
Still we hold on to what we can.

I laugh as I ponder, with still no answer to why
Slowly it degrades

I notice the smooth image has wrinkles now
Tiny grains drift away, I am sad,
I try to hold on, I really do.
Watching my hands as the sand slips through

Tiny specks drifting in the wind
I won’t win

I guess, perhaps… beauty is because of the end.
I hold the photo up, the sun setting so far away
I stop grasping sand, stop frantically hoarding each grain
I stop to admire the image of everything

Such beauty overlooked
Would I be here, if this were not the end?

Slowly it degrades.

Copyright Kephra Rubin 2005-2010

I post as often as I can, but due to a slight case of dyslexia sometimes it is difficult to post quickly. I have to rewrite my work many times for it to be clear and concise. Subscribe and you’ll always know when I have something new up. Thanks in advance.

Next Poem: People Want the Worst of You

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Poetry: Slowly It Degrades

  1. slpmartin says:

    Very good poem…enjoyed how you compared memory with a fading image…thanks for sharing his.

  2. Pingback: The Child (Poem) | Kephra Rubin

Leave a Reply

