MOVIE REVIEW: Shrek Forever After

Shrek Forever After

Rating: Didn’t Suck

Honestly, I liked this movie more than I expected to. I don’t really understand why they had to do the whole “alternate universe” thing… isn’t that something they usually do in TV shows when they can’t think of anything to write for an episode? I think sometimes movie makers just don’t have faith in their own characters and they think they need to jazz things up a bit. I would have much rather seen the basic storyline taken another step. One thing I always liked about Shrek is that it’s not about being an Ogre, it’s about growing up and accepting responsibility and learning about the rewards of opening yourself up to things that are outside of your comfort zone. Little kids that saw the first Shrek are a lot older now, what’s relevant to them? What’s relevant to the parents of those kids? I mean, believe it or not, I’d love a six part movie series, like Shrek or whatever, and you follow the main character start to finish. Imagine that, having Shrek an old man, end with him dying, it sounds messed up, but you could take the fans through everything that they’re going to have to face in their life up on the big screen and give them a positive, constructive, inspiring outlook on it.

Anyway, the reason I bring all this stuff up is simple; this movie is a departure from the flow of the previous films. It’s a standalone movie that doesn’t really take the characters anywhere new, but sort of revisits all the old gags and simply puts a very minor twist on them. It’s still entertaining, but at the same time it’s a bit disappointing.

What you may like:

 -Even though I complained about it, it is kind of entertaining to see just how they’re going to twist things around on you in the alternate universe
-Some funny jokes
-A pretty good message about taking the great things you have for granted, simply because you have a hard time letting go of the “old you”, I think everybody ends up going through that a few times in their life
-A lot of people laughed a lot during this movie, I didn’t laugh much, but chances are you’ll think it’s funny
-Seeing who the characters would be had life been different for them, shows you a hidden dimension to the characters and helps you get to know them a little better than without this type of storyline
-The movie starts strong and really accomplishes making you feel the way Shrek feels about his frustration towards the monotonous nature of married with children life

What you may not like:

-Predictable, you know what’s going to happen because you’ve already seen this story line done to death in television, you know the ending already
-They beat a dead horse (donkey?) with a lot of the jokes and spend a lot of time on dialogue dedicated to the whole “this is an alternate universe where I don’t know you” thing instead of getting on with the story
-The movie felt long, it’s posted as only an hour and a half, but it felt like a good two hours
-After the initial opening scenes I talked about earlier where you relate to Shrek’s frustration, it loses its focus and pace and starts to fall apart a bit, in fairness it does reel itself back in by the end.

Is it worth the money? Hmmm… a lot of kids liked it, and parents seemed to enjoy it enough. It’s number 1 on the charts right now, but it had to climb its way up there (again! Why no 3D?). I’d say, definitely see it, but see it in matinee or with a discount or something of that nature. If you just have to have it in your collection to go with the rest of the series, I’d say wait till it’s $14.99.

Let me know what you thought,
Kephra

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

