POETRY: RAIN DROPS AND TEARS

Rain Drops and Tears

 

She gets beat constantly, but never does she leave
It looks like she enjoys being treated abusively
She must have low self esteem
She must be crazier than she seems

A natural born loser, bruises and bloody lips
A crimson kiss, apologies and broken ribs
Torture every day, but still she stays
Everyone around her says there is a better way

But you don’t understand, and she can’t explain
Some will never comprehend the meaning of pain
Sometimes the past, hurts more than a bruised back
And distractions can be better then having to look back

Though you see marks, you don’t see her true pain
Neither does she, that’s why she throws herself in the rain
The Rain drops may beat her down, and make her so cold
But they also hide her tears so her true pain is never known

Bruises heal, broken bones mend,
But how do you face the kind of pain that never ends?
Moments of silence bring thoughts of misery
Horror, panic, anxiety
She gets to live in the moment
When that moment she might die
She gets to feel alive
Every time that she cries
And so she throws herself in the rain
Again, and again, and again

Raindrops and tears
Again and again.

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to POETRY: RAIN DROPS AND TEARS

  1. mythicsushi says:

    That’s a good poem. It sounds like it’s talking about the destructive, hard-to-escape cycle of abuse that can become ingrained in a person’s emotions, and it communicates that well.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Hey mythic! Glad to see you back. Thank you very much, it really is a cycle, but it’s a cycle that can be broken through understanding. Often I think that it’s when a woman feels isolated that she feels she has no means for escape. Perhaps if a person could write a poem that closely describes how she feels, she’ll realize that other people must have overcome the very same things she’s currently facing, perhaps inspiring her to reach out to someone, or maybe simply escape all on her own. It’s hard to write in emotions, it almost sounds weird when I describe what I was thinking when I wrote it, because in truth I wasn’t thinking, it just flowed out. Thanks again for reading!

  2. Nicole says:

    That sounds like there is personal experience in it.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      You always get the longest responses, even from the shortest comments, lol. You’d be surprised to know that women come to me for insight more than men, even though my book says “for men” in the title. Somewhere around two to one actually. For the longest time I would laugh and roll my eyes at women that stayed in abusive relationships. I grew up in an abusive life, I risked life and limb to get out, ended up homeless just trying to get on my own two feet. But I did it, and I was proud of that, had a chip on my shoulder to match. I was in such an animalistic mode, i couldn’t see how much I had to suffer in order to come out on top. Not everyone can do what I did, some people would risk leaving someone behind (kids, younger sibling). I left behind a lot of people in foster care who continued to be tormented while I went on to whereever I went. I think even today I have a bit of “survivor’s guilt” most ended up dead or in jail, or limping through society struggling with maintaining the basics of life. Some women are simply drama junkies and enjoy what they get, and I’m not afraid to say it to their face. The woman this poem is based on, however, was not. She truly was mislead, and she searched for help and didn’t give up, even when it was hard. She kept talking to me, and I didn’t give up on her. I don’t make any attempts to “save” anyone, people are strong enough to save themselves, sometimes they just need someone to put things in clear perspective. Today, she’s away from that man, it’s been years now that she’s been away from him actually, she’s truly independant now, and really she did it all by herself. To me, it’s not a sad poem at all, but I didn’t add anything to the poem even though the story changed to show the happy ending, because I felt it was important for the reader to FEEL the way the subject felt, and to maybe evoke a desire in the reader to reach out to someone they know in the same situation, not in a knight in shining armor way, but in an empowerment way, so that she can save herself. Hope you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

