POETRY: Jump and I’ll Catch You

Jump and I’ll catch you

I held up my arms and showed a fake smile
Said it’d be okay, and she looked in my eyes
If you jump I will catch you, why oh why
Jump and I’ll catch you, why did I lie?

She leapt from atop an old picnic bench
Trusted me, so she looked into the sky
Arms stretched out she was super girl
Why did I put my arms down?

Holding her knee, crying teeth clenched
I was leaving that day, I came to say goodbye
We were the best of friends in the whole world
So I helped her up, and joked away her frown

Told her get back up there, I’ll catch you now
She asked me if I promised, I nodded my head
She asked me again and I said come on down
She wanted to trust me so she jumped again

Social worker said it was time for me to go
Nobody told her I was leaving for good
Told her jump one more time, I’ll catch you
She knew I wouldn’t, but still she would

And as my hands fell to my sides
It was the most painful sight
The look in her eyes, screaming why oh why?
Please don’t leave, don’t leave me, she cried

Got into that car I didn’t even wave goodbye
20 years later I’m still asking why
Still waking up at night, tears in my eyes
I’ll punish myself for the rest of my life

We were so young, she probably won’t remember me
But I remember all the terrible things we faced
We were best friends because we helped each other see
That happiness was a state of mind, not a place

and Yet I held up my arms and showed a fake smile
Said it’d be okay, and she looked in my eyes
If you jump I will catch you, why oh why
Jump and I’ll catch you, why did I lie?

Copyright Kephra Rubin 2010

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to POETRY: Jump and I’ll Catch You

  1. Kim says:

    Your poetry is very dark and brooding, don’t get me wrong, I like it. It’s clever and unique and so rare to read something that shakes my soul. You almost had me in tears with this poem. Do you write any happy stuff?

  2. Kephra Rubin says:

    What, you didn’t think “Stupid Ugly Hot Chicks” was funny? Cuz I thought it was hilarious. Ya know, you make a valid point though, I think it’s why i use so many different outlets. Each aspect of myself comes out in a different way. The poetry tends to be dark because it’s how i deal with the darker parts of my life. A lot of people would rather bury and hide the screwed up things they’ve done. I believe in putting my worst foot forward and making bad first impressions, because it only gets better from there, lol.

Leave a Reply

