Twilight: Eclipse MOVIE REVIEW

Eclipse

Rating: Didn’t Suck

I thought the movie was okay, there was a lot of people that thought this movie ROCKED SUPER HARD CORE!!!! And there was a lot of people that felt this movie sucked horribly. This is probably going to be the most difficult review I’ve had to do so far. It’s tough for the rating to really do the movie justice by itself. Make sure you read everything if you need help deciding whether to drop cash on this flick. Like my Sex and the City 2 review, I want to be upfront, I’ve never read the books, I’ve only seen these movies for the sake of reviewing them. So, to keep things fair, I talked to a LOT of fans to find out what “TWIHARD” (yes, they actually call themselves that 🙂 fans thought.

Here’s the rundown of what people thought:

Complaints fans had:
-The story drags, it’s a lot longer than it needs to be
-The character flash backs soak up a lot of time in the movie and feels very thrown together, the book does a better job of making you feel like the history is significant.
-The fighting was basically people running into each other, there was no real choreography
-The love story was like beating a dead horse, and things only moved forward a little bit over the last one
-The acting is weak and dead pan
-This film rushes through the most important aspects of the book and instead focuses on retards running into each other.
-When they “teach everyone how to fight” nobody is shown learning anything

Things fans loved:
-It’s more serious now, everything feels more realistic, and the drama of the love triangle comes to life more in this one (I agree with the more realistic part, a guy who normally directs horror directed this one, and because of it, the more wild vampires, actually seem intimidating)
-Lots of action
-Better acting than the previous two (I agree, the acting sucked, but it WAS better than before)
-More dynamic directing than the other films which adds to the excitement
-A good balance for “Team Edward” and “Team Jacob”… “followers” do you guys really talk like this?

Surprisingly, no one mentioned the special effects, I suppose they didn’t do anything new over the last two films though.

Personally, I didn’t hate the movie, I just thought it was a little boring. When I talked to people initially, I figured I was going to have to give it a Pretty Damn Good rating, people were so enthusiastic, then I talked to a bunch of other people and dialed it back to my personal rating “Didn’t Suck” because they hated the movie so much.

So what’s the verdict? Hmmm… tricky.

What I’ve gathered from the way people responded to this movie, is that if you’re a young girl who was a fan of the first two, you’re going to love this movie and say it ROCKED and that it was the best one yet. If you’re an 18 or older woman who isn’t a “TWIHARD” but enjoys the movies as a guilty pleasure, you’ll be disappointed and say it only “didn’t suck”. If you’re a woman in her twenties who really liked the first two films, you’re going to hate this one.

If you’re older than that and don’t have kids, you probably don’t even know this movie is in theaters right now and aren’t reading this… sooo… why am I talking to you? I don’t know. Guys who were dragged to see the movie, younger males will think it was okay, didn’t suck, guys in their 20’s will spend a lot of time making fun of this movie and say it “sucked”. Parents; your best bet is to give your kids the cash if they’re “tweeners” or young teens and make them get a job if they’re older than that so they can fork their own money out to see it.

So, if you know which category you fit into, you should be able to figure if it’s worth the money. It’s rare a movie gets such a conflicted response, but at least this will give you an idea of how much money you’ll be willing to throw at this flick and see it in theaters.

Definitely let me know what you thought as this one threw me for a loop,
Kephra

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Twilight: Eclipse MOVIE REVIEW

  1. Kat says:

    I wanted to kill myself halfway through this movie so I didn’t have to watch it anymore! It was horrible. I could have bought a cocktail with the money I wasted on this movie, and I would have felt better after the cocktail as in comparison to the movie.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Why did you put Kat as your name and not Kara? Odd, anyway, yeah I think you’re accounted for in the adult women category without kids that will completely despise this movie, lol. Which is unfortunate because I know you enjoyed the first two. This would be a perfect example of people who were fans of the other two genuinely disliking this newest one, but I notice the younger crowd seemed to think this was the best one yet.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Okay, I just want to be clear to everyone, you don’t need to post different names to try and make me look like I have more readers than I actually do. I knew it would be impossible to grab the “mainstream” market when I started this. It’s more important to me that people see the same names posting over and over. The point of this site is to try and bring intellectual people together so they can see that in truth there are plenty of us roaming the earth surrounded by morons and we’re not alone at all. So, Kara/Kat, thank you, but you’ll be helping me more by sticking with Kara so people see you as a regular visitor, part of this community. Much appreciated and thanks for the post!

  2. Jimmie says:

    I’m just glad I didn’t see the movie. If I’m gonna waste my time these days it will be on something worth while I hope. And that’s not saying much. How do we get that wrapped up on aligning ourselves with movies?? People arguing about the best characters in Harry Potter, Star Wars, Lord Of The Rings, and now the Twilight series. I’m just hoping we’re not that deprived of human contact and social well being that we have to back who we are with fictitious characters and ignore the real problems of the world. AND THATS ALL I GOTTA SAY ABOUT THAT!

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Man, VERY well put, I think this speaks more to the quality of our society than necessarily the quality of the films mentioned. When mass hysteria exists over ANY movie, it is a little concerning.

      The term “FAN” is actually short for “FANATIC!” which is why I refer to people like you as “LISTENERS”. Fanatics, at least as I see it, are dissatisfied with their life, frustrated they can’t change it themselves, and willing to surrender their personal power to someone who will tell them what they’re supposed to be, offering some form of perceived clarity. They buy what they’re told to, love the movies they’re told to, even if it’s really not a good movie.

      To be reasonable, the thought of someone, even if it’s just a character, who can act as a guide while at the same time embodying the traits we wish we had- has a definite allure to it. However, isn’t that figure supposed to be our parents? Perhaps having that role model in life is a necessity for survival, so people will find it anywhere they can. If it has to, it will manifest itself in things like super “twihards” and things like that. Sadly, I have a feeling this is an age old problem.

      Excellent response.

  3. SuzyQ says:

    Hmmm…thanks for the breakdown 🙂 I have to say “Twilight:Eclipse movie” really, really, really sucked! Where can I start…the script/dialogue…the make-up (where are the sparkles???!)…the whole cinematography! It was so bad that I thought it was worse than the first one (and I thought the first one is bad) Yes, I’ve read the books (way better than any of the movies so far) However, I have to admit by far, I love “Twilight: New Moon” movie…and it may be the only one I would buy of all the Twilight movies out so far. *sigh* Totally bummed…

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      You bring up a good point I don’t think anyone else mentioned about the sparkles, I completely forgot about that. Diamonds are a girl’s best friend right? lol. Is it any shock the diamond skin’s a win? lol. Why toss it in part three? Sometimes I wonder what Hollywood is thinking when they change a winning formula. Pretty much everyone agrees, New Moon is the best… why not use the same director, costume designer, photography director, producer, everybody that worked on New Moon? Who knows. I definitely agree about the cinematography, it’s what keeps the movie emotionally engaging, and often I felt bored. Sometimes with these reviews I have to step back and simply remember why I’m here, to help people predict at what likeliness they’ll want to pay money to see something in theaters. Great response, I feel so privileged to have so many smart people sharing their opinions, this is why I post, to bring all of us together so we know we’re not alone! Great response. 🙂

      • SuzyQ says:

        You hit many points on your piece 🙂 Yeah, I did wonder about that…you know, using the same director, producer, editor, etc from New Moon…you said it exactly, the movie lacked engagement/feelings…thus, abit boring? Maybe it has to do with the (almost none?) background music too. I found that there was alot of subtle, beautiful music in the New Moon movie. The points you made about “love story was like beating dead horse” and flashbacks being rushed are so true! For me, what I took from “Eclipse” (the book) was more the stories of other vampires (how they came to be) and werewolves (why they existed) more than the love as portrayed in this movie. Yes, it has some relevence (i.e. love triangle & the Choice) but it was so much more than that. I think the director Slade completely missed the point (though he claimed he read the book) and focused more “excitement” on the fight scenes. (Yes, I did love the “sparkles” ;P) And yes, the pre fight scenes were supposed to show the werewolves how the Newborns behaved and how to act accordingly…that what made it interesting. instead the movie just did a “typical” fight scene. Oh well…at this point, I’m looking forward to Harry Potter come Nov. *lol* Cheers!

        • Kephra Rubin says:

          The music is a really good point, everybody made a real big deal out of Saving Private Ryan and how real it felt because there was no music, and since then a lot of people have tried to make films with either no music, or very little/very subtle music. If there’s enough going on in the movie, then sure, maybe it would work, in Saving Private Ryan music would have lightened the dark and dramatic mood. This isn’t Saving Private Ryan and a good score really is a lot more important that I think most people realize, since like you said, it exists only in the background, it may in some cases go unnoticed. I’m excited to see Harry Potter as well, that’s another one I never read the books, but watched anyway and I have to say it really impresses me every time. My biggest point of appreciation for those films is how they grow WITH the audience, it started out very childish (not in a bad way, but more of “kids flick”) and has grown into something quite mature and in every film has related to universal struggles of growing up which are really so vital. Humans thrive on story telling as a way of communication, and GOOD story telling is such a treat. I’ll look forward to seeing what you think of that one when I review, and definitely look forward to seeing more comments from you in general. Thanks again for contributing intellectually. Smart people; we’re not alone!

Leave a Reply

