MOVIE REVIEW: Inception

Inception

Rating: Pretty Damn Good

If you like the Matrix AND the Cell, you’ll love this movie. If you’re big into films and remember the movie Dreamscape, you’ll also like Inception. Personally, I was disappointed with the movie, and honestly I wasn’t expecting much in the first place. Read on and I’ll tell ya why. First we’ll start with the good stuff though.

What Everybody Seemed to Love:

-The visual interpretation of a dream is as close as you’re getting compared to other movies
-Cool action
-Good acting
-The concept of inception is hauntingly relatable
-Suspenseful
-Good special effects and visuals
-A good amount of funny moments
-Some actual meaning to go with the action and special effects

What People May not like:

-There were a lot of people that thought the acting was too dry and not very good
-The cutting between dreamscapes was choppy and left you spending more time trying to keep track of the story than being sucked into it
-Too many characters that didn’t matter enough
-Relationships that build, loyalties that exist, without any believable reason for it, the bonds between characters don’t feel real (this was also kind of the point, in the dream world you accept things you normally wouldn’t)
-Even though the special effects are epic, their creativity is rather basic and dry
-LONG! And really doesn’t need to be

I think that maybe Leonardo DiCaprio was in the mood for surrealistic film when he signed up for “Shutter Island” and must have signed up for this movie at the same time. If you really watch the movie, the two are basically the same thing, just different “Stuff” to deliver the story. Though, in fairness the two movies each have a single main point that they make that differ from each other. I don’t want to be too hard on this movie because it’s rare anyone is even brave enough to even make surrealistic films and I’m a fan of this genre. With all that being said, the question at the end of the day is at what likeliness would you want to pay your hard earned money to see this movie? Well, I’d say that most people will feel as though the two hours and twenty some odd minutes they spend watching this movie will be more enjoyable than many other movies of the same length from any genre, it’s that good. The movie will do its job; provide a mental escape from the daily drama grind and be fun and entertaining at the same time. At the end, even with all the crazy stuff happening, the movie keeps it simple and chooses to solidify one or two main messages in the movie and so in the end, you leave feeling a little changed for the better, while intrigued enough to want to see it again.

I think full price is fair, up to 10 bucks at the theater, 3D would be badass for this movie. Probably 20 for the DVD as well, though I’m not sure I’d buy this film. I’ll have to think about that one a bit more.

Really curious to see what you think,
Kephra

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MOVIE REVIEW: Inception

  1. Pozzuoli says:

    I am not a fan of this movie film as it is very kinds of confusing. I like it look and actors well and much many of the “twists and turn”. It is cool.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Rent it. Watch with subtitles.

      It is a confusing movie, I can’t disagree, I think some of the film may have been lost in translation if you saw the movie with subtitles. I know with a lot of my martial arts movies in my DVD collection, the voice over dubbing doesn’t match the subtitles, so it leads one to wonder if even the subtitles are being properly translated. If you watched it in an american theater, try renting the DVD and selecting subtitles in your language if available. A lot of the movie is dependent on the audience following the explanations of how the dream world works. Without understanding that aspect the whole movie falls apart.

      Thanks for commenting and i hope that helps you enjoy the movie better.

Leave a Reply

