MOVIE REVIEW: Cats and Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore

Cats and Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore

Rating: Kinda Sucked

This movie falls in the same pit as most sequels, trying way too hard to out-do the original. None of the jokes are funny, I don’t think I laughed or even giggled a little. I get what they were trying to do with the film though, explain the concept of how hate grows from ignorance and show children that understanding is the key to peace. Unfortunately, they just didn’t pull that off in any way.

I guess very very young children will like this, but my nephew is four and he wasn’t really interested at all, so, it’s probably not even worth the time of a rental.

What you won’t like:

-Hectic script
-Beating jokes to death (reusing the same over and over)
-Things that are treated as if they are clever meanwhile my four year old nephew wasn’t impressed
-Kat Williams is annoying as the pigeon

What you may like:
-More story into the cats and dogs world
-Good concept on peace through understanding

All in all, I really did enjoy the first one and was impressed at how good of a movie it was, but I’m not really shocked that the sequels falls short, I’m just shocked at how short it fell. Anyway, save the money, watch it for free if you have a broken leg or something and already ran out of other movies to watch and it’s the only thing laying around. Otherwise, there’s better family films out there right now.

Let me know what you thought,
Kephra

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MOVIE REVIEW: Cats and Dogs: The Revenge of Kitty Galore

  1. Paula says:

    I hate sequels that fall short, naturally it would be safe to assume that I have a general disgust of most sequels. I brought the kids hoping they would enjoy it as much as they enjoyed the first (I rather enjoyed the first) and it was difficult to keep them in their seats. This may seem on par for children, however their enjoyment of the original had them glued to their seats. Well, almost. Perhaps worth a rental on a half day with the children home from school, but over all save the money.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Really, I think the main cause of failed sequels is the desire to outdo the original. It’s really not about that, it’s about continuing the story. I mean, true, in the case of a trilogy, you want it to crescendo to something magnificent (Yes, including Rush Hour 3, rush hour 3 was very funny, a comedic martial arts movie crescendo if you will) but there’s more freedom than film makers realize with a sequel, just answer and elaborate on the things introduced in the first and try not to retardize the movie and you’ll be fine. I hated Transformers 2 so bad for this very reason. The attempt to outdo ends up simply being the production of hectic, panicked nonsense that mushes up the screen until you have a headache, very much the case in this movie as well.

Leave a Reply

