MOVIE REVIEW: The Other Guys

The Other Guys
Rating: Pretty Damn Good

If you liked Pineapple Express, you’ll love “The Other Guys”. It’s a sort of mash-up of different film styles, a dark comedy meets your average Will Farrell movie, add a dash of Adam Sandler-ish half realistic, half surreal comedic situations and you can start to figure on what to expect from this film. This movie uses a lot of “stupid comedy”, but by now if you expect a movie starring Will Farrell to be anything but stupid comedy, you probably don’t know who Farrell is. With that being said, that doesn’t mean it’s a bad thing. I found myself laughing so hard watching this movie. It was also a real treat to see Mark Walberg being such a ham on camera as that’s a bit of a departure from what we’re used to from seeing him.

What you’ll like:

-Will Farrell fans will love his usual brand of silliness
-Mark Walberg does a good job of balancing out the duo and gives something to the people who may not be amused by Farrell’s style of comedy
-Lots of cool action
-They do a great job of making the two of them look like “the other guys” screw ups who don’t get any respect, so whenever they do actually pull something off, you feel excited for them this is an indicator of good character development
-Lots of good cameos and guest stars
-Hilarious satire about how the government constantly wastes taxpayer dollars on crap that just doesn’t matter

What you may not like:

-The movie shifts from being a “realistic” action/comedy, to being completely disconnected from reality and surrealistic and then back again, without any sort of transition, it makes it hard to process the movie
-Some of the jokes are too repetitive, usually the ones that aren’t even that funny
-It takes a long time for them to get to the final point and then it’s not even that big of a deal, a bit of a letdown

All in all, regardless of what I say and what other people that I interviewed had to say, the truth is we all agreed that we laughed a lot and for a while forgot about our days and any  frustrations we may have had. While I believe that a film’s main purpose is to act as the modern medium for classic storytelling similar to the way tribes pass down morals and lessons verbally, a secondary purpose of film is simply to provide an escape.

This movie does have some morals, but even the morals are almost meant as a joke, making fun of how your average action movie struggles to have some token meaning in between explosions, so really its main purpose is to provide you an escape and allow you to just not take life so seriously for a little while. It does this very well and I think when you look at it that way, it’s easier to know how to take this sort of film.

If you’re a fan of Will Farrell then it’s worth full price, if not, then I’d say it’s still worth seeing in theaters since it does have cool effects worthy of a big screen and surround sound, but I’d say do it matinee style at a nice theater instead of going to a discount dirtmall theater. Probably fun enough to own on DVD, especially if you like Will Farrell comedy.

Let me know what you think,
Kephra

copyright 2010 kephra rubin

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MOVIE REVIEW: The Other Guys

  1. Hien Flye says:

    This movie was retarded, I hate Will Ferrel

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Well, I can’t disagree with the retarded parts, normally I don’t like Will Ferrell, and I don’t know how much I enjoyed this movie as my reviews are more about the likeliness people will want to spend money to see a movie in theaters and less about the cinematic quality of a film, so I can hear what you’re saying there. Perhaps it would have been nice to elaborate on your thoughts though. This blog is more about intelligent discussion than just complaining.

Leave a Reply

