Movie Review: Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World

Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World

Rating: Pretty Damn Good

The best way to approach this movie is to throw out the rules and expect nothing before you even walk into the theater.

When I started watching the film, all I kept saying was “What the hell is going on here?” but after a little while I picked up on the concept that the movie is trying to visually express what it feels like to deal with the ups and downs of dating. By the middle of the movie, I actually started to like it, by the end, I was thoroughly impressed. In honesty, it starts off a little weak, but it ends profound and is worth the wait. Its style allows for the addition of crazy fight scenes and other “guy stuff” to balance this movie out as a potential date movie. The style is a bit quirky and choppy in some areas, but overall people seem to enjoy it.

Things you’ll like:

-Pretty cool style of film making
-Lots of funny moments
-Some cool, fun fight scenes
-Good drama, lots of movies have drama that gives guys a headache, this is the kind of drama that I think will have people laughing out of being able to relate to it
-Interesting music
-Cameos from Thomas Jane and Clifton Collins Jr.
-It ties itself up with a nice ending

Things you may not like:

-Choppy directing that can be hard to follow
-Repetitive gags that get old
-It’s long, like two hours
-Confusing parts
-A couple of really weird parts that are lame

I liked the movie more as it progressed and by the end I felt like it was worth the investment of time, it just takes a little getting used to, but with all the extra visual movies coming out lately, I don’t think it’ll be too hard for you to get acquainted with it and enjoy yourself. I talked to a bunch of people who thought it was a fun movie worth the money to see in theaters, the cool effects and extremely unique approach to film-making round it out as a good time for all. There was also an appreciation for the concept of how stressful and overwhelming it can feel when you have to If you like campy movies, if you enjoyed The Spirit, Charlie’s Angels, and any movie by Zack Snyder (the guy that did 300) or Frank Miller, then you’ll probably love Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World.

Let me know what you thought,
Kephra

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

