MOVIE REVIEW: Devil

Devil

Rating: Pretty Damn Good

I gotta tell ya, I haven’t enjoyed anything from M. Night Shyamalan since The 6th Sense, I’ve given some of the movies since then a good review simply because these reviews are about trying to predict at what likeliness you’ll want to spend your hard earned money at the theaters to see something. This time, I’m actually agreeing with the good reviews. It could be partially because I didn’t really get a chance to see any of the trailers so I didn’t know what to expect, or it could be that my standards have just been lowered with what to expect from Shyamalan, regardless, I liked it, and most people that saw it liked it too. Though, I have to say it’s just barely past “Didn’t Suck” into “Pretty Damn Good” so there are a lot of movies out that are better, but if you’ve already seen them, it’s worth it to check this one out next.
What you’ll like:

-Pretty good acting
-Pretty good suspense
-Pretty good ending
-Pretty good story telling and script
-Pretty good directing
-Keeps you guessing

What you may not like:

-The trailers for this movie give away a bit too much, so don’t watch them if you haven’t yet
-It’s not exactly anti-climactic like most of Shyamalan’s movies, but it’s not exactly a crescendo of fear either
-Some of the dialogue is cheesy
-A bit of a “small” film, but that’s not always a bad thing

All in all, I think it’s worth it if you like suspense type horror, I’d say 8 dollars is the most you’d want to spend on it though, 15 for DVD 20 for Bluray.

Let me know what you thought,
Kephra

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MOVIE REVIEW: Devil

  1. Kara says:

    The second I saw this thrailer I thought of you and I knew you would be reviewing it. I don’t know if I would be able to sit through this, what do you think?

    Did you see they made an American version of Let The Right One In and renamed it Let Me In. Also, there is going to be Paranormal Activity 2. I’d like to see your reviews on those as well.

  2. Kurt says:

    Regards for having really very good informations. Your blog is great and i'm impressed. It shows how well you understand this subject. Bookmarked this specific web page. will come again for a lot more.

Leave a Reply

