MOVIE REVIEW: Black Swan

Black Swan

Rating: Pretty Damn Good

This is a tough one to review because I liked the movie sooooo much, but these reviews aren’t only about me, they’re an attempt at predicting what likeliness you’ll want to spend money to see this film in theaters. In that regard, I had to knock it down from totally ROCKED, to Pretty Damn Good. Regular readers will know if they like the same movies as me and determine if they’ll think it rocked as well.

What you may not like:

-Confusing directing; I tend to enjoy surreal movies and all of Darren Aronofsky’s work, but I found that a lot of people were saying “Wait, what the hell just happened? Did a piece of the movie get cut out?” Maybe not those exact words, but that sort of idea. Some people had a hard time following, and to their credit, they weren’t dumb it’s just not a style you see every day and they didn’t know what to expect.
-It’s almost a horror movie, this could be a Pro or Con depending on what you like, the fact that there were so many scenes that made me literally cringe and gasp- floored me because it’s so rare that I get that swept away in a movie. At the same time, I heard a lot of people say they wished it was left out.
-Kind of a slow going flick; this is its tempo, if you liked “Let the right one in” (“Let me in” USA remake version) you’ll like this movie.

What you’ll love:

-Ironically, the love and hate mirror the theme in this movie, the duality of human nature and how we struggle to balance our light and dark sides. To the black swan we have complaints about directing and style, cringe-effect and tempo, to the white swan, well, we hear compliments about the directing, style, cringe-effect and tempo. The directing was an excellent way to cram a lot of story into a shorter amount of time without losing meaning. The cringe-effect was present to show how the obsession with pursuing perfection is a damaging endeavor that literally destroys people’s lives. The tempo helped you to feel as the main character felt living in her life of monotony and control all for the hopes of living out someone else’s dream that was only partly her own. In the end, for most of us, our attempt at living a fulfilled life is the very thing that makes our life seam so unfulfilled.
-A great ending; tied up loose ends, couldn’t ask for more.
-A very believable, not just done for shock effect, lusty scene between the leading ladies that did more than just excite but helped to further characterize Natalie Portman’s role… yes… okay fine… it was freakin’ hot too, lol. Seriously? Probably the best scene of its kind yet. You almost wonder if they were both hopped up on Ex when they did that scene, lol. “Bound” eat your heart out.
-Great characters
-Great dialogue
-A great message, theme etc.

All in all, I’m buying it on DVD, I might even get some people together and go see it again. I’d pay 20 bucks for it on disk. Although I don’t think it’s worth more than 8 or 9 in the theater, it’s not like it was in 3D or anything.

Let me know what you thought,
Kephra

 

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to MOVIE REVIEW: Black Swan

  1. Paulo says:

    the written content on this publish is really one particular of the top substance that We have at any time arrive throughout. I adore your submit, I will are available back again to examine for new posts.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Thank you very much, as far as I can tell you are complimenting me on the quality of my movie reviews and you’re saying you actually prefer my reviews to others that you’re used to reading. I am happy to hear this and am excited that you’ll be reading again.

  2. Jay says:

    *previous comment* Sounds like a compliment to me, lol.

    I usually have an easy time of playing devil’s advocate, especially with opinions of a movie. In this sense though, I agree 100%. every point you bring up is correct, and I come to that conclusion by determining that since you and I are always at least 99.9% correct, then the odds are pretty damn irrefutable. Either way, a few things I will point out without spoiling anything. :

    Natalie Portman is amazing in this movie. not really a stretch of the dramatic persona that she’s been somewhat stereotyped into, but perfect for HER.

    I think the fact that at many times during the movie you find yourself saying out loud “what the fuck what that all about”? is great, given that by the end of the movie you’re now saying “OHhhhhhhh, wow……”

    and lastly that there is one scene in this movie that SHOULD be in 3D.

    -Peace

    -Jay

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      LOL. Agreed. I was into the weird parts quite a bit, and as long as you could follow it, i really think it added to the movie. MAYBE it could moved just a tad faster in some parts, but sometimes I think characterization needs some extra time. Man, imagine THAT scene in 3D, IMAX here we come.

Leave a Reply

