Movie Review: The Mechanic

The Mechanic (2011)

Rating: Didn’t Suck

Really great action, as expected for Jason Statham, but the script comes up short. This is a remake of an older Charles Bronson movie which is definitely a better film than this newer version. My movie reviews are designed to predict at what likeliness you’ll want to spend your hard earned money to see a movie, and this movie is a take-it-or-leave-it kind of luke-warm film. You won’t exactly kick yourself for seeing it, but you could just as easily see something else and not feel like you missed out on something spectacular.

What you may not like:

-They talk about how meticulous Statham’s character is, but they don’t really show it. In fact, even amongst all the action, it’s mostly talk when it comes down to the characters. When you leave, the movie just ends, you’re not impressed, not stunned or blown away, it’s just over.
-Ben Foster doesn’t really get to show his stuff, he’s a really diverse and skilled actor, but anybody could have played this role the way the director drove it
-Lame ending, I definitely recommend the original, better film with a good ending
-The movie feels rushed

What you may like:

-Brutal Action
-Ummmm… more action
-A couple of hot chicks that are in it for like five minutes

Overall, I think that action junkies will enjoy it, I think everybody else will prefer a rental or discount theater to paying full price. It really falls short in a concept that had a lot of potential for being an action movie with a suspenseful plot. That’s all I really have to say about it, I’m never watching it again, but it wasn’t a TOTAL waste of my time. Other people liked it a lot and were happy to get out of the house and see things explode, can’t hate em for that. Think about what mood you’re in and you’ll know if it’s worth your time or not.

In fact, why don’t you let me know what you think of it,
Kephra

 

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

