I Am Number Four: Movie Review

I Am Number Four

Rating: Didn’t Suck

I didn’t like this movie at all. The concept was cool, the themes in it were good. The execution was poor. The dialogue and the choppy pace of the storytelling killed it for me. A lot of people enjoyed the action, though, and there’s a certain formula to the movie that I think people might connect with. In spite of the bad, I think there will still be a lot of people who enjoy this movie. I’ll talk about that in a moment.

What you may not like:

-The story is just slapped together, it’s such a lazy form of storytelling it’s pathetic.
-The acting is corny, Timothy Olyphant is good, but he’s good in everything he does. It’s just bad direction. Not to mention crappy dialogue is hard to improve with acting alone.
-Campy characters
-Awkward chemistry between the actors

What you may like:

-It reeks of Twilight, ya know? Those awkward characters falling in love but there’s that thing that holds them apart. People seem to like that.
-Lots of action
-Cool concept
-They do a lot of “token” drama points, the weird parents, the tricky love, people taking their lives for granted, wanted to “leave the nest”, puberty etc.

Overall, I found myself rolling my eyes and getting distracted by boredom. However, a lot of people had a lot of good things to say about it. So, I’ll put it like this: If you like Twlight, if you like GI Joe and if you liked the show Dawson’s Creek (I don’t know what the current equivalent would be, I don’t watch much TV anymore) than you’ll enjoy I Am Number Four. If not, then you’ll probably not like this movie.

I’m curious to see what you guys think, let me know,
Kephra

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

