Sucker Punch (movie review)

Sucker Punch

Sucker Punch

Rating: Didn’t Suck

I was a little sad this movie wasn’t better received, I liked it but a lot of people are saying they thought it was stupid and pointless. I would wager on it being more likely that they thought it was confusing and hard to follow. I think had they cut in scenes of what was happening in the real world while she’s going out of her mind it might have made things make more sense to the average viewer. Perhaps with everything tied together a little neater, it would have gotten a higher rating. I think it was Pretty Damn Good, but chances are I think most people will agree that it merely Didn’t Suck and was just okay.

What you may not like:

-Confusing storytelling, think “Inception” without any points of explanation or moments of reality
-Some of the directing gives you a headache. There’s a point where stylized just becomes squirrely and your eyes can’t keep up
-It’s a movie about surviving abuse, there aren’t too many films that succeed since the subject hits a little too close to home to millions and millions of people
-The movie leaves you asking a lot of questions and the profound meaning of the film isn’t expertly delivered. Instead it leaves you half laughing at its attempt at being meaningful amongst all the action and scantily clad women who all look a little too much like under aged girls.
-Some guys will like the kinky outfits, but it was a little unsettling to me, some of the girls look like children, I understand that this was the point that these women are being exploited, but it carries over into the dream worlds etc. I don’t know, I guess it just depends on your taste.

What you may like:
-Cool action
-Unique mixing of different movie genres into one film, keeps you guessing and keeps you excited
-A great meaning, and an inspirational message
-If you can follow it, the storyline is also interesting
-I’m sure lots of people will dig all the chicks and the outfits
-There’s one girl who looks “of age” or borderline adult and she’s pretty hot, not only because she’s attractive, but also because she runs an AR 15 and a Remington 870 tactical like she actually knows what she’s doing, and chicks with guns is a beautiful thing
-Great artistic flare and use of color

If you like The Cell, Dreamscape, The Fountain, 12 Monkeys, or other sort of surreal movies of that half-creepy nature, then you’ll absolutely love Sucker Punch. I plan on buying it on DVD. However, if you prefer more conventional movies that don’t drift so far from the logical, it’s probably not worth anything more than a matinée. The rest of you either wait for it on rental or don’t bother with it.

What did you think?
Kephra

 

Copyright 2011 Kephra Rubin, movie rating system copyright 2004 Kephra Rubin, excerpts can be used if permission is asked first and a link is provided with the excerpt leading back to this post, the rating system cannot be used under any circumstances.

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sucker Punch (movie review)

  1. SuzyQ says:

    To be honest, I wasn’t sure what to expect from this movie when it came out. Glad I took a chance. Pleasantly surprised by its storyline and surreal visual direction. Granted, it seems geared towards guys – mainly because of how scantily clad these women (or “girls”) were. *lol* But, man, do they kick butt! Also like story within a story type of plots…Lots of symbolism elements. (Abit creeped out by the child-like look of main character…I guess only because to me, it symbolizes innocence. But somehow, it works with the fighting (in mind) sequence).)

    If I based it on the storyline and visual (not how the charaters were dressed) – I’d rate it – 4/5 stars.

    Funny you mentioend “The Cell” and “12 Monkeys”…loved the storyline for these too…although there were parts in “The Cell” that had me weird out…

    Cheers!

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      I’m glad you liked it, honestly I think most people probably couldn’t follow the story. To me, it really had a lot of charm ya know? It had an important message and it had such a cool and fun way of getting such a serious point across. Honestly I couldn’t really get into the girls except for the oldest of the bunch, even with the outfits it just creeped me out, that big sister- girl plays in “Limitless” as the girlfriend, she’s extremely attractive, both in her attitude and appearance. Either way it was pretty cool choreography with all the fight scenes and I loved how with each new realm they used different tactics.

      The Cell was wonderful, Tarsem Singh directed and he has such an amazing style and imagination. Check out “The Fall” directed by Singh for another interesting story within a story type of movie. Also, it’s a little off topic, but check out my review for “Flipped” what an awesome story and great directing, it’s not really surreal like what we’re talking about, but I think you’ll enjoy it. https://kephrarubin.wordpress.com/2011/04/22/flipped-a-wonderful-movie-you-probably-never-saw/

      Tarsem Singh will also be directing “The Immortals” however I don’t see his usual style in the clips that i’ve seen so I think the producers may be holding him back a bit. I have mixed feelings on that. My gut’s telling me the movie isn’t going to be good. But I’ve been wrong before.

      Let me guess, the scene where he pulls out Vince Vaughn’s intestines right? lol, that freaked me out, or maybe someone like you would be more screwed up by the horse death scene. Hmmm….

      Which brings up a seperate point, Vince Vaughn has really shaped up to be a bit of a disappointed, he has such a versatility to him and yet chooses to constantly return to that weird stuttering routine that’s in every single movie he does now. He really could do so much more, The Cell shows a hint of that.

      Anyways, a bunch of friends are coming to check out Thor 3D, honestly the movie looks little gay, but I’m predicting it will be more entertaining than Superman, we’ll see.

      Thanks for the great post! 🙂
      Kephra

Leave a Reply

