Hanna (Movie Review)

Poster art for "Hanna."

Hanna

Rating: Pretty Damn Good

Take “Kill Bill”, “La Femme Nakita”,a pinch of  “Kick Ass” and what the heck, throw in a dash of “Rambo” while you’re at it. Mix them together in a blender on the liquefy setting and pour in a Chemical Brothers original sound track followed by some quirky directing and what do you get? Hanna. Overall, it’s a relatively unique film, especially when compared to what’s out at the moment. Its small feel helps to put the focus on the characters in this action movie that doesn’t do too bad at having some meaning as well.

What you’ll love:

-Good action
-Girl power
-Good acting
-Good sound track
-Intriguing storyline
-Pretty well tied up ending, there’s definitely some questions, but it’s more in a “can’t wait for a sequel” way then in a “that makes no sense” kinda way
-An interesting “nature- versus-science” sort of theme in the background that had a cool feel
-Some allusion to benchmark literary pieces

What you may not like:

-Choppy directing at times, ya might get a bit of a headache
-Some of the symbolism and meaning they put in feels forced and borderline cheesy.
-Some of the action is choreographed in a confusing way and there’s things that you might miss in all the fanciness of it, sometimes it’s better to keep a complicated situation as simple as you can instead of adding more complexity to it hoping to come off as stylized

Overall, even the people who didn’t like it, liked it enough that they felt it was money well spent. It’s going on my DVD’s to buy list. Pay full price at theaters, around 18 for the DVD. Like I keep saying, until Blu-Ray gets cheaper it’s just not worth it to see people’s pores and peach fuzz in high def for thirty bucks a pop. Something like “Avatar 3D” I’d pay 30 bucks for, but most titles it’s just not worth it. That’ll be up to you though. DVDs are getting phased out, but so far I’m still able to get titles. I Just picked up A-Team and Black Swan the other day.

Anyway, what did you think of Hanna?
Kephra

Copyright 2011 Kephra Rubin, movie rating system copyright 2004 Kephra Rubin, excerpts can be used if permission is asked first and a link is provided with the excerpt leading back to this post, the rating system cannot be used under any circumstances.

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hanna (Movie Review)

  1. Spud says:

    I thought the movie was very confusing and choppy. I think a lot of it was attempted style but quickly became a pronounced superfluous waste of time. There was very little explained and much left to interpretation. It was very much like an art piece done by a college student with a B average. I’m surprised there wasn’t German Narration and more grinding techno in the background. I sat through until the end and there I was, still waiting for the actual conclusion to the story. I don’t believe sequels should be necessary in order to enjoy a story.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Ya know, funny you should mention that, I just got a complain from a friend of mine about the same thing. I didn’t get a chance to talk to him first before posting what the review, but it’s valid points that i think should be added to the review. the rating isn’t going to change, statistically speaking, most of the movie going public (people who see movies on the regular) will enjoy watching this movie. However, for people who are unsure, I think it’s important to note some things that i left out. So I’ll be adjusting the movie review either tonight or tomorrow depending on how much time I have.

      Those are some pretty harsh words “Spud” but I can hear your views and not neccessarily disagree either. I think the chemical bros could have done a better job and made the music a little more enveloping than they did. Not everything needs to be orchestral to generate emotion. They however, as you said, went the “weird german flick” approach and while it was different, I don’t know that it was the best they could have done with it.

      Still, at the end of the day, it’s fun, it’s unique, it’s interesting, and it leaves you wanting more by the end. Perhaps they simply weren’t sure if they were going to get a sequel out of it, but wanted one, so they ended up in this limbo where so much is introduced and yet so little is explained.

      Keep in mind though, Star Wars doesn’t explain anything except maybe the force, everything else you’re just supposed to accept as it happens right in front of you. Perhaps fantasy fans are more accepting of that organic type of storytelling. This was told as if you’d been following her around. By the end of the movie, you know everything she knows, and you’re left just as confused and full of questions as she is. Her acting did a good job of drawing you in and making you feel like you were trying to get to the end of her journey as well.

      Perhaps certain movies are harder to digest than others because of style, in that regard, we can see why hollywood is so adamant about remakes and sequels, they’re sticking to stuff they already know people like in this crappy economy.

      Anyway, I’m getting it on DVD, I liked it.

  2. King says:

    Hello great article about the movie, I think I’ll rent it now.

  3. Mack says:

    Great blog, your approach to movie reviews is helpful. More so than any other reviews I read. They spend too much time recapping the movie. I’ve already read the description. It’s why i’m checking the reviews, because I’m curious. You cut to the chase and give me what I’m looking for. The rating system is perfect, as soon as I see “didn’t suck” or “rocked” I already know what it means without needing to read the rating system.

Leave a Reply

