Scream 4 (Movie Review)

Poster art for "Scream 4."

Scream 4

Rating: Pretty Damn Good

I’m surprised people liked this one so much. I was dreading the torture of sitting through it. Though, I have to admit, it was a lot better than I expected. It was not scary, I don’t know that any of them were scary, but the first one was definitely a little more… disturbing? Suspenseful? Something. This one takes the approach of acknowledging how ridiculous the whole concept is. It pokes fun at itself and horror movies alike, and especially remakes in general to try and get the audience to forget about the fact that it’s yet another sequel among the sequels that keep coming out all year.

What you may not like:

-It’s more of the same, with minor differences thrown in to make it very safely feel like something new
-It’s annoyingly goofy in a lot of parts
-There’s excessive dialog that’s forced and in certain areas poorly acted
-Little to no gore (which for some will be a good thing)
-The villains voice is a joke

What you may like:

-I have to admit, even though I could see everything coming, there was a pretty uniquely predictable twist at the end. If you had to know what was going to happen, at least it was something that you don’t see often
-It’s interesting enough that there’s only a few parts when you check your watch to see how far in you are, for the most part it keeps your attention
-Hot chicks
-There were some good twists and turns throughout the movie as well, nothing spectacular, but good enough
-It’s pretty funny, which could also be a bad thing depending on what you’re looking for

Again, I can’t really see what all the enthusiasm is about, but these reviews are less about me and more about the likeliness a person will want to pay money to see this in a theater. From the interviews I’ve done and research into people’s reaction, they really enjoyed the freshness of it. In that respect, I can agree, as far as sequels go, it’s probably one of the best from any genre. If not, it’s at least up there.

I have no plans of buying this on DVD and I don’t have any Scream movie for that matter. However, chances are people will definitely want to add this to their collection, so up to 20 bucks for good special features is worth it, 14.95 if it’s just the usual behind the scenes and the theatrical trailer. Full price in the theaters will not disappoint a large portion of movie goers. See it in a group for the best experience.

What did you think?
Kephra

Copyright 2011 Kephra Rubin, movie rating system copyright 2004 Kephra Rubin, excerpts can be used if permission is asked first and a link is provided with the excerpt leading back to this post, the rating system cannot be used under any circumstances.

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scream 4 (Movie Review)

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Surprisingly awesome for a series that seemed like it was wearing a bit thin towards the end there. The film is more suspenseful than it is actually scary, but being a fan of the whole series (even the 3rd), I had a great time with this film. Good review, check out mine when you can!

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Yeah, if we have to deal with sequels, it’s kind of nice to see one that was actually good. I really don’t understand what’s so hard about making a sequel, just keep all the same elements, director, writers etc. and simply take the story further. There’s too much focus on more-more-more, more explosions, more craziness yet in this sequel, there was actually less gore than in others, but more story. It just proves my point. Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

