Movie Review: Pirates of the Caribbean- On Stranger Tides

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

Rating: Pretty Damn Good

I have to give credit to the Pirates franchise for not completely screwing up the sequels. When you think about how terrible Iron Man 2, Transformers 2 and a bunch of other sequels were, the fact that Pirates is still watchable is pretty damn amazing. In that regard, I don’t think Pirates really gets the credit it deserves, in an industry that just HAS to screw things up, this one has managed to survive.

What you’ll hate:

-Regular Movie theater 3D is lame, there’s like four or five things that pop out at you and that’s it, maybe IMAX is better, doubtful
-There’s this love story subplot that is very reminiscent of an animated tale I’m sure we’ve all seen at some point in our lives. It’s kind of stupid, doesn’t really help the story along in any way and then after spending all this time on it they don’t tie up the loose ends and you’re left wondering about it as you leave
-A lot of the running around in circles and “escape and evasion” that Jack Sparrow is known for looks tired, like even the cast and crew is like “okay, whatever, he gets away, we all know how this works out let’s just get on with it already.” There’s parts where they’re all just standing there meanwhile in past films they’d be doing something
-It’s long, longer than it needed to be
-Reused gimmicks, instead of a tentacles grabbing up the crew it’s ropes, bla bla bla
-No Keira Knightly
-I don’t think anybody even noticed Orlando Bloom was missing, but whatever, he’s gone too

What you’ll love

-The mermaids were cool
-The story is actually pretty good, there aren’t too many loose ends
-The effects weren’t bad
-It had a lot of funny parts, it’s probably the funniest of the entire franchise
-The acting was good, it fit for the type of movie it was and even the less important characters did a good job
-This one adds some depth to Jack Sparrow’s character and makes you see a different side of him
-A good, entertaining ending that had everyone laughing, people even stayed through the credits just in case there was a little more (there wasn’t)
-Keith Richards was a nice touch again, the manner in which they interact shows a very subtle dimension to Jack Sparrow
-I got a kick out of how they conceived the vision and the function of the fountain of youth and the twist with one of the pursuing parties was unexpected nice surprises

The manner in which they revitalize your interest in Jack Sparrow could justify another few more sequels without leaving a bad taste in your mouth. I guess instead of a trilogy it’ll be a “saga” which surprisingly I’m okay with. It’s not that I hate sequels, I love it when stories don’t end, but I hate it when they screw the sequels up. So far so good with Pirates of the Caribbean.

It’s definitely worth full price to see, but the 3D wasn’t worth the extra money. It added very little depth to the film, true- there were a few scenes that were very cool, swords going straight into the camera, the opening titles and lettering popped out pretty nicely, a scene where vines were hanging and I actually reached up and wiped my glasses thinking a hair or something had gotten on them, that stuff was cool. However these things were few and far between. If you know you’re going to make it 3D, direct it like you’re making it 3D, ya know what I mean? Add depth in your cinematography so the 3D enhances that instead of it having to make something out of nothing.

If you’re going to a discount theater that has 3D and you’re only paying like 9 bucks or something then definitely do it, but not 14 or more. Some theaters seem to be choosing to only offer 3D as an option. In those cases, I don’t know. I’d probably still go see it. You’ll have to make the call.

20 bucks on DVD easy, especially with good special features. Still not impressed with Blu-Ray, it’s 50% more cost and you’re not getting 50% more quality. However I’m starting to see lots of incentive programs and some Blu-Ray discs dropping in price, so things are looking up in that regard. Plus the fact that Blu Ray players can also play DVDs, another year or two and things won’t be so bad I don’t think. We’ll see.

What did you think of Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides?
Kephra

http://www.kephrarubin.wordpress.com
For people who love stimulating conversation
Discuss movies, philosophy, poetry and more by leaving your comments

Copyright 2011 Kephra Rubin, movie rating system copyright 2004 Kephra Rubin, 
excerpts can be used if permission is asked first and a link is provided with 
the excerpt leading back to this post, the rating system cannot be used under 
any circumstances.
About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Movie Review: Pirates of the Caribbean- On Stranger Tides

  1. Nataly says:

    Much better for kids than the last one, less gore. I could not believe they put a bullet hole in a woman’s head in something that’s geared towards kids. The Little Mermaid reference in your review was not lost on me either.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Yeah I was kinda surprised by it when they went that route. I mean I guess to be fair, the movies could be growing up with the audience as it too gets older and more mature. But I don’t really need the blood and stuff in a film series like this one. I like the light heartedness of it too. Yeah, that’s a bit of a spoiler you just threw in there, try to avoid that at least until the movie’s been out a while, or put a warning. For future reference anyway, not just here but anywhere it’s like internet etiquette. Thanks for taking the time to read the review though, I’m not trying to rain on ya, lol, and thank you so much for commenting, it means a lot :-). Keep reading. My poetry might be a little dark for you, but give it a go and let me know. Thanks again.

  2. Jay says:

    I made it about 20 minutes into the film before I had to turn it off. To be fair it was a pretty shotty copy I got online, So I won’t say anything too bad about it before I see it in better quality. With that said, the sole reason I shut it off was just what you mentioned Keph, almost every scene was Jack narrowly escaping capture and/or injury and swinging from either a rope or chandelier, I’m sure it will get better after I give it a chance, but I’ll wait until the theater or a better DL.

    P.S. No worries about the spoiler Nataly, I wouldn’t have gotten the reference anyway……not a huge little mermaid fan like Keph is :b

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      This coming from the guy that pointed out a drawing of a dildo on the cover of Little Mermaid to me. Yeah, apparently obscure trivia is acceptable where the little mermaid is concerned. lol. The escape and evasion stuff was definitely tired and played out, especially all the jumping on things that people don’t normally jump on like barrels and merry go rounds or whatever. Eh, it was just repetitive. What saved it was the extra comedy and the coolness (is it okay to say hotness? since they didn’t have legs… hmmm…) of the mermaids. That’s not to say that at the end you’ll enjoy it, but it might help.

  3. Jen says:

    Ummm…. Did you miss Keith Richards in the third movie? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9EnOjGuQkNs

    I think I’ll wait on this one til it comes out on DVD… I loved the Orlando Bloom / Johnny Depp dynamic in the first 3, and don’t know how I’ll feel without that. I’d probably see it for $6 not $10+.

    Can we talk about why movies have gotten so damn expensive? It’s ridiculous! $4 for a soda? They have to raise the price on concessions because the theater makes very little on the movies, and then they wonder why people sneak their snacks in and they have to make their snacks even more expensive. If the prices were reasonable in the first place they wouldn’t have this issue. Until then…… my big purse is full of stuff for the movies.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Hey Jen, thanks for commenting! Hmmm… not sure how that happened, but yeah, I totally missed that or more likely forgot it happened when I wrote this review, in a minute I’ll edit the review and remove that, now I’m blushing, what a silly mistake, lol. Anyway, better to have it pointed out and fixed than anything else, so thanks for that. Honestly, I was happy to do without Orlando Bloom, I’ve always found him annoying, but I suppose that’s more personal preference than anything. I did like Keira Knightly, but Penelope Cruz does a good enough job and brings a very different element to the film, something a little more vulnerable while still being strong. I don’t disagree with the $6 instead of $10+ though. My buddy insists the 3D was great, but I just don’t see it. It was a lot of scenery stuff, but the whole point of 3D is to really immerse you in the action.

      Ya know, i don’t mind paying a little extra for my food at the theater, I understand ticket sales aren’t enough to survive. What fires me up is how on top of over charging they screw you on the portion size. I went to a local discount theater and the Skittles were like 5 dollars… but then they hand me this bag, it’s like a half a pound of god damn skittles, lol. I had skittles for two days off of that. So, yeah, i probably could have gotten that back for three bucks at the grocery store, but whatever, it’s more expensive at a gas station too because you pay for convenience. But at the Regal Cinema, I get some star burst, it was like 4 bucks, and they give me this huge ass box, I open the box, and inside there’s like 8 starburst… what the hell? lol.

      I don’t even bother buying stuff there anymore. Sometimes I’ll get a water, but that’s more out of necessity if i’m just THAT thirsty. Such is the nature of the beast until someone steps up to challenge it. Maybe someday I’ll do that. Thanks for posting 🙂

Leave a Reply

