Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, movie review

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 Movie Review

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 Movie Review

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

Rating: Rocked

With almost 170 million dollars raked in during its opening weekend alone, it’s safe to say that this movie was quite possibly the most anticipated movie in history. Personally, what I thought was more surprising than even its record breaking haul was the fact that the movie didn’t disappoint. There’s really no hype attached to this film, it’s genuinely good story telling.

Fans loved how they brought back characters, but casual audiences had a hard time keeping track of who everyone was

Fans loved how they brought back characters, but casual audiences had a hard time keeping track of who everyone was

What you may not like:

-As a Non-Harry Potter fan, I kept getting lost with who the characters were. I had a hard time remembering who people were when they brought characters back from the past. This is obviously a non issue for fans of the series who probably own them all on DVD and have watched them multiple times

-The battles that should mean the most

The battles that meant the most were the least epic

The battles that meant the most were the least epic

are the least spectacular

-There’s so much time spent looking for crap, objects and what-not that it almost takes away from all the truly amazing plot twists

-The 3D isn’t really all that spectacular. I list this in the next section because it wasn’t terrible either, I’ve seen much worse
 

 

The special effects weren't just great, they were purposeful

The special effects weren't just great, they were purposeful

What you’ll love:

-Amazing plot twists, but I was floored a few times while watching this movie

-A great, full circle and complete, final film

-Interesting sub-theme about the basic circle of life and the

Minus the special effects and wizards, it's a story about life and how it's better with love in it

Minus the special effects and wizards, it's a story about life and how it's better with love in it

difficulties attached with growing up and letting go

-I really enjoyed how some of the battles made it almost like a war movie

-Fans talked at length about how this sequel strays from the book the least

-If you were disappointed with 5 or 6, don’t worry, you’ll love this one (says fans)

-Good effects that weren’t over done, everything had a reason for being on-screen

-Good-enough 3D, not great, but if you want great 3D it’s either going to come from animated movies, or films shot with specific 3D cameras. As far as films converted to 3D, this one’s not bad, just don’t expect too much and you’ll be happy.

All in all, Harry Potter has been a huge part of our culture for a long time now. It’s such a smart approach to storytelling, to grow up with your audience. The movies/books aren’t afraid to address both the good and the bad of life and growing up. It’s something that people can take personal lessons from, kick back and be entertained by, and think about long after it’s over. I spoke with some people who don’t even like Harry Potter. They were dragged to see it and yet grudgingly admitted that they enjoyed it as well, which is a good sign. I’m not really into wizards and all that stuff. I hated Lord of the Rings (Anybody remember “Willow”?) and most of the other fantasy things out there. When Harry Potter first came out, I made fun of it. Yet, it gained my respect when I finally did give it a chance because of its universal subject matter. Sure, it’s wizards and goofy stuff, but really it’s about life and how dark it can become without love in it. How can you not take a moment to appreciate that?

The short answer is, you’ll either love it or hate it. If you hate it, it’ll likely be more because you hate the genre than the script. Still, from the looks of things, chances are very strong that you’re going to love it. Was the 3D worth it? I think fans will pay to see it in 3D and be happy about it. They hand out special glasses shaped like Harry Potter’s glasses which everyone enjoyed. If you’re just seeing it to see it, don’t bother with the 3D, chances are you won’t feel like it’s worth it. Either way the movie is worth full price for most people. It will probably be worth the 30 bucks on blu-ray for most people. 20-24 for DVD depending on special features.

I know I always ask “what did you think?” here, Take it a step further if you like. How do you feel about the entire journey of Harry Potter and how do you feel now that it’s come to a close?

Thanks for reading,
Kephra

www.kephrarubin.wordpress.com
For people who love stimulating conversation
Discuss movies, philosophy, poetry and more 
by leaving your comments. No account needed 
to comment! Subscribe for notifications 
whenever I post more!

Copyright 2011 Kephra Rubin, movie rating 
system copyright 2004 Kephra Rubin, excerpts 
can be used if permission is asked first and 
a link is provided with the excerpt leading 
back to this post, the rating system cannot 
be used under any circumstances.  

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2, movie review

  1. SuzyQ says:

    My take on the movie was…unfullfilled expectations *yikes* Sorry…

    Alas,I expected the movie to stay (almost) true to the last book (as they always claimed the author being there to make it so.) Hmmm…not sure about fans’s comments about this being the least straying from the book. There was a certain “something” when I watched the other HP movies. I guess the changes is to make it more “entertaining”. (It did) I suppose it’s the different directors’ take on the series that made the difference in the movie series.

    On part, I wished they’d spent a tad more time with Prof. Snape’s memories scene – that was one of my favorite part in the book – it was too rushed for those who haven’t read to book to actually feel how strongly he felt for HP’s Mom. There was not much understanding with the part with Albus D. I found the fight scene…abit underwhelming. Too many points to pick on, really. However, I did liked the balance of the special effects and storytelling. (recall: Star Wars Episodes I-4). Maybe to all HP fans, it’s been satisfying end to the series.

    I think I expected too much the climax of the series-turned-to movies to be more like huge WOW.

    Having said that, I really, really did want to like this movie.

    Cheers!

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      I hear ya, it’s easier for me since i have nothing to compare it to. I was pretty floored by the whole Snape thing, I didn’t know that was going to happen, but I was always confused about his motives because sometimes he would look out for Harry and other times be a douchebag. Snape was definately more important than a lot of the stuff they focused on in the movie, they could have cut some of it out and focused more on that. I appreciated the full circle concept as Harry has kids of his own and it’s like, no matter what you do, you’re always going to get old and have to step aside for something you love more than yourself to thrive. It’s what happened with him and his parents and who knows, maybe it’ll happen with him and his kids. If they can’t get the author to write, they’ll find someone to do it, lol, I’m sure there will be more sequels to come.

      I have no internet at the moment, at a friends house. The funniest thing is I call to get it fixed and it says due to a strike, no one can take your call. So now I’m really dead in the water. The 2nd draft of my book is dragging a bit, having a hard time finding time. Talked to a good friend of mine and he was like “Fuck that noise, commit to at least one hour a day, I don’t want to hear that shit, you can do an hour, probably even two every day and get this shit done.” LoL, I love my friends.

      One friend is helping me with the second draft, I read to her and she stops me like every two sentences to clarify things, she’s absolutely in LOVE with the storyline and is so eager and dedicated to working the story out, it’s awesome :-). Might just be the very thing I need to crank this masterpiece out.

      • SuzyQ says:

        Way to go, Kephra! You’ve got a pretty good cheering squad there. ;P Definitely essential to keep you motivated and inspired. Looks like somebody already has a following…hehehe…

        Back to HP, weelll, I am not sure about a sequel. Perhaps, a prequel will be quite something…if she would consider one. Kind of cool to get a glimpse of how it all began. With Voldermort, the Order of the Phoenix, etc.

        Yeah, I concur with your comment. I liked the ending to the series…the sense of continuity. Some fans would have liked it that Harry P dead. But him being alive – and creating a life of his own making makes more sense to me. Ah, perhaps it’s just me wanting to have a pleasant rather than a dreary one. Think, Lord of The Rings. (I was thinking after all he went through that’s what happened to him in the end…bummer!)

        What can I say I’m a sucker for happy endings. ;P

        Good luck in writing (& re-writing) your drafts!

        p.s. Is the strike over yet?

Leave a Reply

