Still waiting on Verizon

I’m seriously torn by my current lack of internet ever since Verizon went on strike. Yes, they’re back to work, and whether the employees ever got what they were after I never bothered to look into. What I do know is the customer service is that same… horrible quality we know and love. I’m still without internet and still can’t seem to get a hold of anyone to help solve this. 

I’m torn, however, because I seem to be so much more productive without the internet. The book is in it’s third draft about to be fourth. I have written several press releases, figured out exactly what I want for the cover design, gotten a handle on several different avenues for promotion, finally found an artist whom I am almost positive will prove reliable, established quite a few contacts in different areas of importance and a whole bunch more in a very short amount of time since losing my internet. 

At the end of the day, the internet is pretty much vital to modern living. At least it is in my opinion. Yet, it seems to always degrade into a lack of focus because there’s SO MUCH stuff out there. I’m debating on whether I really want the internet back up. On the one hand it makes updates and what not so much easier than dropping by a friend’s house to use his internet every time I need to post. On the other, what have I really been posting other than movie reviews and the occasional poem? I spend so much time trying to keep myself out there that the real project that matter were suffering. Wouldn’t it better to just focus on the book and have actual stuff to present to everyone? 

In short, the answer is no, you need to be on the internet to succeed and you need to be on it frequently. I suppose there’s a bit of nostalgia in sitting by candle light and penning your masterpiece and having something tangible to share with people in a romantic setting. Today it’s more like you’re just trying to hurry up and feed the starving beast that is the internet so you’re not forgotten. I don’t like the idea of being a slave to anything.

At the same time I’ve made some great friends on here that live too far away to ever see so jumping online is how I stay in touch. 

I suppose there in lies the bigger lesson, what’s the point of being productive without people to share it with? Isn’t that worth the effort of keeping focused and not drowning in the sea of the internet? Yeah. So, I guess the key is to NOT become a slave to anything, including your own desire to work.

Looks like I just figured out my goal sitting here writing to you, imagine that. I need to find that happy medium between cranking out the projects and keeping in touch with the people that enjoy my work.

Easier said than done, but nothing ever gets done until you start doing it and you don’t do anything until it becomes aware to you that it is in need of doing soooo…. I guess we’ll get started.

😉

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still waiting on Verizon

  1. Lauren says:

    This post poses a striking resemblance to my life at the moment, and I thought I’d weigh in! Since I’ve been away, I’ve found it quite difficult to adjust to the differences in the pace, culture, and accessibility. In addition, what they consider “priority”. I’ve noticed that over here (Paris, specifically), they don’t consider the internet a priority. In addition, they go about their days quite leisurely, and have 2 hour lunch breaks. Are they extraordinarily productive? I wouldn’t say so, but I can say that they’re much more intelligent as a country than we are! On the other hand, in the U.S., we are often productive, but I don’t think our work is quality anymore. Essentially, you’re shoving so much into your brain (the Internet is synonymous with multitasking anymore), that you’re shortchanging yourself and your ideas. Granted, you can’t get as much done in a short period of time, but your ideas are genuine, and they’re authentic. They are stirred over, and the repercussion are thought out. I can’t say the same in America. But then again, by the time the repercussion hits, we’ve already gotten a solution. But, that could also just be a trail of dominos.

    In my own experience, I’ve found myself with more patience without the Internet. When I see Americans in a Parisian setting with Internet, we get frustrated when the Internet isn’t loading…when the Facebook News Feed takes more than 15 seconds…if that! Parisians just shrug and say “The internet is out…sorry!” And they continue to eat their croissant (no really…it’s true). Contributing to that, the French are more private people. It takes them YEARS to finally get to a point where you’re considered a “friend” (the first level of friendship, I’d say), and they rarely ever tell them personal details. In our culture, we become fast friends. Which is better? Who wins? Is it even a competition?

    Just my thoughts. They were relevant I thought since I’ve been stirring over it the past few days. Enjoy!

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      There’s definitely something to be said about allowing bonds to be forged and properly tempered. I agree that the internet has created a certain sense of constant impatience in our culture. If something isn’t rectified in seconds then it cannot be rectified. It feeds into a pill popping culture perfectly. At the same time, I think openness and a willingness to let people in is important as well. Perhaps a blending of the two different cultures. Really, at the end of the day, I’d be fascinated to see what the world would be like if all cultures blended together. True, some would say diversity would suffer, and I don’t disagree. I guess in a lot of ways that’s what China wants for the world and… well… we see how well that’s going. Yet, from an academic curiosity, if we could use a computer model to blend everything together, what would it look like? Would the weakest aspects of each culture die off? Would there be some sort of super culture? Would Americans become more respectful? Would french people be tougher? I don’t know, but still it’s a curious thought.

      As far as reality is concerned, I think the bigger picture is that people have to take responsibility for their own actions. It’s necessary to be both willing to see the details of a situation, as well as reference the bigger picture and decide what’s best for them. Sure, I can cut the internet out of my life and be a hermit cranking out masterpieces, or I can be a social butterfly to the point off having no anchor point. However, the true testament of manhood (or womanhood) is being able to find the balance that lies between all things. That includes self control enough to know when to turn off the TV, stop watching Youtube videos and get some work done. It also includes knowing when to let go and have some fun and hit that release valve that is so necessary to blow off steam and with that release of pressure allow more creativity to rise to the surface.

      I think a lot of perspective has come into your life lately and I think you’re being strong and facing that perspective head on. The big question will be what we all do with our perspectives. Anyone can have them, choosing to do something with them is another level of existence entirely.

      In my opinion, of course.

      Ya know I didn’t realize how much hitting the “like” button ups my page hits. Can ya hit the like button for me? I think it’s at the top of the page. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

