Never Give Up; African Immigrant’s Words Inspire Poem

The man's words were spoken in passing, they should have been spoken on stage, as no photo of him was taken, this  photo stands in his place.

The man’s words were spoken in passing, they should have been spoken on stage, as no photo of him was taken, this photo stands in his place.

 

Never give up

They came to our grandfathers
And took away their guns
Then they came to our fathers
And took away their words

Then they came for me and mine
To take away our lives
We fled to America,
Where we knew freedom thrives

Now, I am a grandfather
And they come for our guns
Where will our grandsons run?
Nowhere left for us

So, we fight as grandfathers
To let our children speak their words
To let our children’s children stand
Exactly like the first

Our leaders silenced their people
Yet, a silent nation screams
Never give up your guns, America
Please, promise me

African Immigrant, American Citizen
Name Unknown

Written By Kephra Rubin

Based on words spoken by an African Immigrant attending the February 28th, 2013 Albany Gun Rights Rally. Other legal US citizens from Russia, Italy and many other places expressed similar feelings as well.

kephrarubin.wordpress.com

I post as often as I can, but due to a slight case of dyslexia sometimes it is difficult to post quickly. I have to rewrite my work many times for it to be clear and concise. Subscribe and you’ll always know when I have something new up. Thanks in advance.

Next Poem: What Will Be Left?

Dos and Don’ts When Talking With Women About Guns

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Never Give Up; African Immigrant’s Words Inspire Poem

  1. Richard says:

    I am a South African 23 year old and I am in tears after reading this. In our Country we are at the point where they are planning to take away our words. I plan to move to America after I finish my studies and gain some substantial work experience. America represents freedom to me, so I implore the citizens to fight for it lest your grandchildren end up like us: about to lose their freedom and having to leave.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Sadly, much of the same is happening here, while they attack our firearms, they are attacking our ability to use the internet as well, which is the only method we have for circumventing propaganda in our country.

      When you get here, I am confident it will not be as bad as what you are facing now, but just because things could be worse, does not mean they cannot be better. They take away small rights, one by one, we need to fight harder for these small things as its the only way to keep what we have, and get back what we’ve lost.

      I look forward to you joining the fight.

  2. Ken says:

    This is a beautiful poem. It inspires me. It gladdens my heart to see a work of art that praises gun rights, the freedom that America represents to the world, and the current struggle for Liberty in the hearts and minds of Americans everywhere, and for the whole world too, but as an American and a Californian, what I know best is the assault on our inalienable human rights here in the golden state, especially the right to bear arms. As far as the right to arm bears, that freedom will just have to wait. 🙂
    I am a Libertarian, and I’m curious if either of you are familiar with libertarianism?

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Thanks for the kind words. I can’t say I really know what my political ideals are to be honest. I have miss-matched beliefs. I believe in a woman’s right to choose in terms of abortion, that could be considered liberal, whereas I believe in responsible gun ownership, perhaps more republican? I think some government control is important to prevent monopolies from ruining everything, but feel that the government is already far too involved and needs to back off. I was on welfare as a child and I think welfare is a disease that keeps people subservient and forces them to vote for the people who support it, however I also believe that certain people do need assistance, it’s just that the system is being more abused by those in power than by the people. I guess whatever political party means “Do whatever you want, just don’t mess up my day in the process” would be the one I might join if politics didn’t give me a raging headache, lol.

  3. Pingback: People Want The Worst Of You (Poetry) | Kephra Rubin

Leave a Reply

