New Writing on the Way-Check Out my First Novel While You Wait

Image

New Writing on the Way; Check Out My First Novel While You Wait

After writing an article about how to talk with women about firearms, I received a lot of feedback about other things men can do to improve the atmosphere of the firearms community in regards to future and existing female shooters. This, however, has made things difficult as many of these articles could be little books all their own, and each requires their own amount of research.

So, if you’ve enjoyed my writing and the way I capture the spirit of things, check out my new novel–Walk Through the Valley: Book 1.

Most of you who help proof read my work have known about the novel and the many, many rewrites it has gone through. Finally, the work is finished.

Walk Through the Valley: Book 1 takes place at the birth of the Vietnam War, where Chinny and his team are tasked with helping Montagnard villagers repel their own genocide. Delivering more babies than bullets, Chinny finds his hardened warrior ways clashing with the emotional bonds formed between the Montagards and his team. He often harshly rejects all of their efforts at reaching out to him and secretly prays for reassignment. Soon, the village is brutally attacked and somehow the bodies of their fallen enemies mysteriously vanish. Before answers are found, new orders force them into a battle against impossible odds. Slowly, Chinny begins to wish for home as the struggle for survival brings them to the edge of madness when they discover how the bodies went missing.

A long time fan of zombies since I was a kid, as well as war movies, I had always thought a zombies-in-the-Vietnam-War film would be an intense prospect. Since I wasn’t exactly going to make a movie in my backyard, the novel was born.

A historical fiction setting such as the Vietnam War requires out of the box thinking to place zombies in a factual setting and have it feel congruent. Don’t expect the usual “someone gets bit and thus the wackiness ensues” type storyline. A new type of zombie was created that could exist in such a reality and allow for the universe to be expanded on with future works.

Surprisingly, as soon as I decided to write the novel, I began to bump into, and eventually set up interviews with Vietnam Veterans. I listened to stories of men who fought a war the world never truly got to see. Who encountered the true indigenous people of Vietnam, the Montagnards, and did what they could to help them fight against oppression and even genocide.

Something that surprised me about this story was how all of its proof-readers have roughly the same specific idea about what each of the characters look like… and yet I don’t describe the appearance of any of them in the book. I knew that it would be difficult to make a novel that appeared real, so I tried to capture the emotional aspects and internal conflict of soldiering and brotherhood, to hopefully give a somewhat candid view of what a warrior goes through.

I will have more articles and poetry posted soon, in the meantime, enjoy Walk Through the Valley: Book 1.

Thanks for reading,

Kephra

Anyone who has helped my writing grow, but can’t afford my novel, can contact me for a free copy.

Check out Walk Through the Valley Book 1 now.

Keep in touch, as new articles are on their way.

I post as often as I can, but due to a slight case of dyslexia sometimes it is difficult to post quickly. I have to rewrite my work many times for it to be clear and concise. Subscribe and you’ll always know when I have something new up. Thanks in advance.

like Walk Through the Valley on Facebook

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in My Novels and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

