Oculus Movie Review

Oculus-poster-with-Karen-Gillan

Oculus

Rating: Pretty Damn Good

This movie has a bit of controversy when it comes to reviews. Abstract movies have a tendency to elude the majority of audiences, so it says a lot for this film that it turned a huge profit at the box office. While many people who viewed it were left saying “I didn’t get it” and “that was stupid” there were a select bunch of viewers who couldn’t help but applaud the movie as it came to a close, myself included.

 

oculusconfusedWhat you’ll hate:

-For some, the story telling style is confusing

-For some, it wasn’t gory enough

-For some, it moved too slowly

 

 

oculusapple

Plenty of cringe moments in Oculus


What you’ll love:

-Classic horror done right, it’s amazing how typical this movie is when you look at its basic components, and yet it’s one of the most original films I’ve seen in a while. It succeeds where many horror films fail.

oculusplottwist

Doubting reality is a regular theme

 

-Mind fff… er… mind blowing plot twists and turns

-A creative villain

-An ending that leaves you thinking about the movie long after its over

 

 

JE3_4956.NEF

The children acted well enough to kind of steal the show

-Great acting by all

-It makes you want a sequel

If you liked “The Fountain” and “Memento” and really wished people in those movies were spine-tinglingly murdered by a supernatural force, you’re going to love Oculus.

 

It’s becoming more rare that I feel a movie is so good I want to own it, but this one is definitely on my list. Check it out and let me know what you think.

Thanks for reading,

Kephra

kephrarubin.wordpress.com

I post as often as I can, but due to a slight case of dyslexia sometimes it is difficult to post quickly. I have to rewrite my work many times for it to be clear and concise. Subscribe and you’ll always know when I have something new up. Thanks in advance.

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Movie Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oculus Movie Review

  1. CMrok93 says:

    Good review Kephra. It’s less scary and more fun than anything. Also pretty interesting as well.

    • Kephra Rubin says:

      Thanks man. Yeah it’s interesting how psychology plays a role in everything, the lightbulb scene FREAKED me out, but what scares one person might make another laugh.

Leave a Reply

