Saying What We Say, a Poem by Kephra Rubin

Saying What We Say, a Poem by Kephra Rubin

Saying What We Say, by Kephra Rubin

Saying what we say

We don’t say what we say
We say and do things meant to mean
What we wanted to say
But were too afraid

So we said things
We never really meant
Bent on beating one another
To the upper hand

King of the hill
Not life, just a stupid little hill
Yet it means so much
We were willing to kill

Saying what we say

I’ll show you who’s boss!
But at what cost?
You win…
Now you’re lost

Saying what we say

Are we really just kids reaching up
To someone who doesn’t want a hug?
Are we really so fragile, are we really so small?
That we build nothing up but better walls?

Saying what we say

Trying to hurt you better than you hurt me
What purpose does it serve, what good does it bring?
An obsession with protection that does more harm than good
Then we wonder why our feelings are always misunderstood…

Saying what we say

We touched for a moment, our souls
But our life time has been full of… just letting go
I can’t do this anymore
But how do I stop?

How do I stop?

Saying what I say

By Kephra Rubin

copyright 2014 Kephra Rubin all rights reserved

kephrarubin.wordpress.com

I post as often as I can, but due to a slight case of dyslexia sometimes it is difficult to post quickly. I have to rewrite my work many times for it to be clear and concise. Subscribe and you’ll always know when I have something new up. Thanks in advance.

Next Poem: The Turmoil Between

About Kephra Rubin

I am slightly dyslexic and have a difficulty with writing. It's because of this that I try to write as much as I can. Lately my writing has improved quite a bit and it's thanks to everyone who reads and posts on my blog. Sometimes it is difficult for me to post as regularly as others do since everything requires a lot of rewrites. Subscribe to my blog so you always know when I've got something new up. Thanks in advance.
This entry was posted in Philosophy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

